About Us

Founded in 2000, BETA is a volunteer operated association with the committee consisting of Principals, Deputy Principals, Heads of Department and classroom teachers.

BETA strives to assist in maximising the effective induction of beginning and establishing teachers as professional educators in schools.

The objectives for which the association is established (as stated in the Application for Incorporation as an Association – Registered 08.07.02) are:

  • To support the induction of teachers into the profession;
  • To support schools in providing induction programs for beginning and establishing teachers;
  • To assist in the formation of productive partnerships within the broader educational community that will support teacher induction programs;
  • To support beginning and establishing teachers during their induction into the teaching profession; and
  • To establish networks of support for beginning teachers.

BETA Committee

Founded in 2000, The Beginning and Establishing Teachers’ Association is run by a generous and passionate group of volunteers with the committee consisting of Principals, Deputy Principals, Heads of Department and classroom teachers. Meet the current committee below.

Photo above: Sasha McDonald (Secretary), Luke Fallon (Vice President), Michelle Cubis (President), Kirsty Fields (Event Manager), Amanda Wicks (Treasurer).


The Beginning and Establishing Teachers’ Association became an incorporated association on July 8, 2002. Prior to this event, the group operated as a working party formed after expressions of interest were requested via the Education Queensland Bulletin Board in 2000.

The founding group consisted of representatives from a variety of educational settings, including schools, universities, the Queensland Teachers’ Union and other professional associations and networks.

The group established many productive partnerships within the broader educational community and enlisted the support of sponsors, which included the Learning and Development Foundation and the Queensland Teachers Credit Union (now RACQ bank).

The group decided that a state-wide, residential conference with the aim of assisting the provision of a more consistent approach to the induction of new staff within Education Queensland was the first order of business.

The conference was named The Spirit of Learning Conference, targeting teachers in their first, second or third year of service, teachers returning from extended periods of leave and teachers transferring to EQ from interstate.

The first Conference was held at the Bardon Conference Centre on May 25-27, 2001, with 180 Beginning and Establishing Teachers taking part.

The Steering Committee was committed to accessing known presenters and classroom practitioners, determined to provide high quality, practical professional development. Many teachers in the establishing phases of their careers contributed to the decision-making processes throughout the planning of this conference, ensuring that the workshop topics would be relevant and needs-satisfying for our delegates. Feedback gathered from participants was outstanding and formed the basis for future planning.

Life Members

2006 Tarmie Bryan Inaugural Lifetime Membership Award

2008 Janet Bannah Lifetime Membership Award

2013 Simone Coogan Lifetime Membership Award
Peter Roberts Lifetime Membership Award

2017 Mitchell Fallon Lifetime Membership Award

2018 Amanda Wicks Lifetime Membership Award

Mitch Fallon Award

The Mitch Fallon Award will be received by a Beginning Teacher from Mitchelton State High School – where Mitch was teaching at the time of his unexpected passing.

The recipient of the annual award will be able to attend the Spirit of Learning – A Residential Conference each May at no cost to themselves or school.

The William Arthur Ward poem features on the Life Membership Award presented to the Fallon Family which the BETA Committee will attest is a fine summary of Mitch and his work. It reads:

The mediocre teacher tells.

The good teacher explains.

The superior teacher demonstrates.

The great teacher inspires.


Recipients of the Mitch Fallon Award

2018 Dana Kraschnefski (Inaugural Bursary Recipient)
2019 Ciaran Kerr

Mitch Fallon’s Family were presented with his Life Member ship Award at the Spirit of Learning conference in 2018.

Photo (L to R): brother Luke Fallon, parents Paul and Lynette, brother Josh Fallon.




Get In Touch

12 + 13 =